Waking up to survey the damage

Today I was trying to imagine how people without psoriasis feel when they wake up. What’s the first thing they think of? How do they feel?

From the moment I wake; I have roughly two seconds in which I don’t feel anything other than the disorientated grogginess of sleep. Then my skin wakes up. I can feel every single patch of psoriasis prickling to life. Simultaneously my mind fights a feeling of foreboding and tries to focus on the sensations in every patch. What have I done in the night? What’s the damage?

I lift the covers and always check my knees first. We could have a good day and they look flat and beautiful. I’ll be straight up and out of my bed, happy, safe in the knowledge this is going to be a good day.
Alternatively, I could be faced with an angry mess of raised skin and blood. In this case I have a look at my fingernails….double checking it was definitely me who did it. Then I hit snooze; I’ll need a little more energy for this day.

20140730-205213.jpg

Leave a comment