Psoriasis doesn’t discriminate…

Psoriasis doesn’t discriminate….

This sentence is probably a bit misleading….when I say ‘psoriasis doesn’t discriminate’, I don’t mean in terms of people, but situations.

As a psoriasis ‘sufferer’, ‘battler’…goddamn trooper, I appreciate that my personality type is prone to this type of ailment. The majority of people I meet comment on my calm demeanour. I’m not in fact a very calm person, internally. Perhaps because I am such a nervous person I know instinctively how to put others at ease. The reality is I worry and fret and tie myself in knots over seemingly minor things.

If this were the only reason I had flare ups I think I could deal with my psoriasis better. The truth is it’s not just negative emotion and worry that trigger my skin to combust. It’s good emotions too! Excitement, anticipation and even excessive happiness seems to lead to a psoriasis flare up on par with one triggered by a negative emotion.

This just doesn’t sit right with me. Should I try to stay calm? Really concentrate my efforts on reaching a plateau of emotion I’m happy to stay on? Or should I just live my life; manage my skin as best I can, and rejoice in the flare ups caused by the extremes of positive emotion…..because as far as I can tell we only get one chance to really, really enjoy it. Psoriasis or no psoriasis.

Leave a comment